Home / News / Interior Dept. Names 17 Members of the National Geospatial Advisory Committee; Anne Castle Comments

Interior Dept. Names 17 Members of the National Geospatial Advisory Committee; Anne Castle Comments

b-w world-people
Department of the Interior Secretary Sally Jewell has named 17 new and continuing members of a committee that provides the Federal Geographic Data Committee with recommendations on geospatial policy and management issues.

The recent appointment brings the total members of the National Geospatial Advisory Committee to 30, each will serve three-year terms, the department announced Feb. 20.

The members of the NGAC meet three to four times annually.

The newly appointed members of the committee from the public sector include Department of Homeland Security’s Dan Cotter, New Jersey State’s Steve Emanuel, U.S. Geospatial Intelligence Foundation’s Keith Masback and Minnesota Geological Survey’s Harvey Thorleifson.

“The NGAC has been a valuable resource and an excellent partner for the Federal geospatial community, and has provided excellent advice and recommendations on a wide range of critical geospatial policy and management issues,” said Anne Castle, FGDC chairman and assistant secretary of the Interior for water and science.

“Effective and innovative use of geospatial information is essential for Federal agencies and we look forward to continuing our collaboration with this dynamic and accomplished set of leaders,” said Castle.

The Interior Department has also appointed several executives from the private sector to the NGAC, including Esri’s Patricia Cummens, Woolpert Inc.’s Jeff Lovin, DigitalGlobe Inc.’s Jack Hild and Stanford University’s Julie Sweetkind-Singer.


Follow me on Facebook

Check Also

BayFirst Solutions Lands Spot on GSA’s $15B Alliant 2 SB Contract; Kevin Gooch Comments

BayFirst Solutions will offer information technology services to federal agencies through the small business track of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *